PCOS and me

I’m really conscious of not making excuses here, so I won’t say that I’m fat because I suffer from PCOS, but I will say that it’s a factor.

For anyone who doesn’t know or hasn’t ever heard of PCOS .. I’m not surprised. There is more information and a growing awareness these days but it’s by no means well known to many outside the circle of sufferers and their long suffering family and friends.

PCOS stands for Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome. It’s a hormonal disorder with side effects ranging from annoying to downright devastating.  For some women it’s little more than irregular periods and mood swings … for others it’s absent periods, hirsutism, infertility issues, weight gain, difficulty losing weight, depression and acne. It also puts sufferers at higher risk for adult onset diabetes, cardiovascular disease and uterine cancer.

I fall in the more severe category but count myself pretty lucky … as with everything in life, I have it easier than some and not as easy as others. Infertility issues haunted us for 7 years before I finally fell pregnant with our first son. Our second son followed soon after. PCOS isn’t necessarily a guarantee you won’t have kids, but it sure does make things difficult for a lot of us. When I was diagnosed 17 years ago there was very little known about the condition. A GP delivered the news and told me I had a less than 5% chance of ever bearing children .. my boys are my miracles in more ways than one.

I also suffer from hirsutism (excess hair on my face) .. it’s an embarrassing condition and one that’s caused me more than a few weepy moments over the years.  Again though, I consider myself pretty fortunate. It’s not overly noticeable because the hair is fair, and it’s pretty easy to ‘take care’ of … although, if I ever did leave it for a week I’d expect the local circus to show up at my door on a recruiting mission for their new ‘Bearded Lady’!

For me the biggie these days is the weight issue, I know that PCOS will make losing weight an uphill struggle, but it’s been done before.  In point of fact, 2 of my friends and fellow PCOS sufferers have had massive successes lately and they’ve really been my inspiration to get off my ass and do it too.

http://myfightwithmyflab.wordpress.com/

The link will take you to a fab blog by one of my girls, she’s a true inspiration and a force to be reckoned with!

It’s actually been proven that weight loss can help with some of the PCOS symptoms, a low GI diet is supposed to be particularly beneficial to PCOS sufferers, I have a friend who has had great success with a diet based on that theory.

So there you have it … everything you didn’t know, and didn’t care to know about the ugly world of PCOS and those of us who dwell there.

Many years ago I read an article online, I can’t for the life of me remember where or who wrote it although the last paragraph has always stuck with me:

“Fat, hairy, spotty and infertile … PCOS sufferers are the Cinderella’s of the gynecological world!” 

Image

2 thoughts on “PCOS and me

  1. Pingback: A journey of weight loss begins with…. | Plus Size Mama

  2. Pingback: Damn the calculator | Cheat Days

Leave a Reply

